Glorious Indicative (Part 2)

-Written by Katy (edited by Anna)-

Recently Stan and I have had an ongoing conversation about how true faith needs to be lived in the indicative mood, not the imperative mood (see previous blog). It’s not about what I should be doing, or what more I can do, or cannot do, but who He is that determines how I live.

If my understanding of Him is correct the only response is to bow down in worship and praise.

These indicative statements make me want to bow and worship the One who holds the stars and planets in place and holds me as I learn to walk and stand again.

Allow me to share some of the indicatives or truth statements that have brought life to me during these difficult days of recovery.

  • In an unstable world, You, O Lord, are the Rock of Ages.
  • The wind and the waves still know His name.
  • I will stand my ground where hope can be found.
  • The Lord stood at my side and gave me strength (II Tim 4:17). This means so much as I learn how to stand and walk again.
  • Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above (James 1:17)
  • His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning (Lam 3:22-23)
  • Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life (Psalm 23:6).
  • He is my shelter, my refuge, my fortress (Psalm 91).
  • My help comes from the Lord who made heaven and earth (Psalm 121:2).
  • He is before all things and in Him all things hold together (Col 1:17).  My daughter, Elisabeth reminded me recently that this included me….He holds even my broken body together.

What about you? Any indicative or truth statements that have been ministering to you recently? If so, please feel free to encourage and bless us all by sharing one (or more) of them in the comments section below.

30 thoughts on “Glorious Indicative (Part 2)

  1. The song, ‘Thy Will’ by Hillary Scott has ministered to my heart. The truth of the words Thy Will be Done echoes to a situation in my life that I have been praying over for months and years. He has chosen to not answer my prayers yet, so I have come, finally, to the prayer of submission by simply praying Thy Will be Done. He knows what is best so I daily must choose to give up my will, and trust His.

    Like

  2. WE read this passage as part of the preparation for Our Solemn Assembly at church, to wait on Him, fasting and praying, to know better how He directs. Isaiah 64:4-5 “Since ancient times no one has heard, nor ear perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for Him. You come to the help of those who gladly do right.”

    Like

  3. Always grateful for the blessings of your perspective from a place of weakness, yet God is strong in your heart and mind. Praise Him!!!!

    Like

  4. Thank you! Bill Wood

    On Mon, Jun 13, 2016 at 7:50 AM, Journey with Katy wrote:

    > lizlind posted: “-Written by Katy (edited by Anna)- Recently Stan and I > have had an ongoing conversation about how true faith needs to be lived in > the indicative mood, not the imperative mood (see previous blog). It’s not > about what I should be doing, or what more I can ” >

    Like

  5. As Dan and I read your two recent blogs, we discussed the imperative and indicative, reviewing our English lessons also. As we prayed and waited anxiously for each announcement of your progress over the last 6 months, we also relived the 6 years of our daughter’s bout with cancer. Your strong faith is bringing you through this ordeal and God’s mercy and peace will continue. We have often thought how blessed we were to have the support, prayers, and love from so many during those years. But the biggest blessing is to have felt the overpowering gifts from God. If we never had problems so big as what you and we experienced we would never know that mercy and peace that God showers on us. We commit our lives to Him knowing His Grace is sufficient!! We continue to uphold you both and your precious family in our prayers trusting you will walk again. And we join you in waiting with glee and excitement for BB Lind!! We love your blogs and you also. Under His Wing, Dan and Muriel Brown

    Like

    1. Dan n Muriel,
      So sweet to hear from you! As we anticipate the newest Lind in a few days, our thoughts turn to you and Peter n Dia so much! Praising God for the hope n joy of new life!! Thank you for your kind comment on thr blog. How many times I have thought how very hard it had to have been for you to watch your own daughter suffer so! I didn’t realize it was for 6 years! But you are so right. If we had never known the depths of such suffering, we would never have known the depths of His mercy and love, so often expressed through His people. Thanks for being part of the present cloud of witnesses who have cheered us on through these months of good days and bad. Lots of love! Ksty

      Like

  6. Dear Stan and Katy, Andrew and I said, amen, amen and amen to part 1 and 2!!! Our recent devotion from Henri Nouwen, is Empowered to be… Who are we?Are we what we do ?Are we what others say about us ?But the Spirit of Jesus given to us reveals that we do not belong to a world of success, fame,or power or fear. HE reveals our true spiritual identities , restores us to a true relationship to God,,our Abba Father, we are sons and daughters ……of the King of Kings and Lord of Lords….we love you both and thank you for mentoring us and speaking into our lives even in the short time we have got to know you both.
    Sok and Andrew

    Like

    1. Dearest Sok Hui,
      Toy are my inspiration for courage! You both keep taking on the challenges before you,, not backing away, but pressing in! We truly appreciate the people you are and the job you’re doing! Thank you! Katy

      Like

  7. Thanks for this very insightful look At GRACE. I too had to dig out my grammar ref in order to process all of this. Our Love is enclosed! Brooke and John

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    1. Hello fellow survivors, or is that over comers! Thank you for your own testimony to his light in the darkness and His faithfulness through it all!love to you both!

      Like

  8. First of all I would like to add my “amen” to Stan’s earlier blog post. God is indeed in control! It’s not what any of us can “do” that is the most important. It all comes back to trust, faith, availability, and willingness to accept His gifts aND to use what He gIves us. I have struggled so much at times with the need to “control”. This blog written by all of you at various times has been a source of challenge, inspiration, and encouragement. In your struggles, brokenness, and pain you have continued to use the gifts God has given you to minister to all of us reading the blog. Thank you for this.
    In reply to Katy’s entry, my indicative truth that has ministered to me on so many occasions over the years comes from:
    II Corinthians 4:7 – We have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.
    It’s not what we can or can’t do. It’s what we allow Him to do through us. Katy, you are a beautiful example of this. You have the treasure of God’s Holy Spirit living in you and you have your heart, mind, and love for others. Your personality still shines and ministers. Your body is weak but your willingness to be used by God is evident to everyone reading these posts. Thank you and God bless you richly in the days ahead.

    Like

    1. Brenda, have appreciated your comments and your inspiring encouragement. I love II Cor.4:8ff. It speaks exactly to where I am and how I feel but mostly just speaks to the truth! Thank you for the reminder!!
      Katy

      Like

  9. Thank you, Katy, for all of the ways you bless and inspire us with your faith and confidence in our Lord in this very challenging time that you have been going through. Our lives are very complicated and God works in each life in different ways. Right now even as I am deep in grief, I praise God for the way He took of Harvey. He answered many of Harvey’s strongest wishes:
    Harvey never became disabled, needing to be cared for.
    Harvey never became totally blind from his macular degeneration. He could still read.
    I did not die before him (a passionate wish).
    His death was instantaneous — in a moment with no pain or suffering.
    You and Stan are in my daily prayers. I love you. Ruth

    Like

    1. Ruth, leave it to you to see His faithfulness through your tears! I love this testimony from Harvey’s own wishes/prayers! It inspires faith n hope in us, to believe inHis faithfulness to the very end of our lives or of time! Thank you for posting this for us all!

      Like

  10. When I was going through a difficult period a few years back (breakup of my marriage and loss of my job), I slowly became aware of the power of God’s grace. As it says in 2 Corinthians 12:9, his grace is sufficient for anything that happens to us. The problem is that, most of the time, we have an illusion of control over our lives. We block the channel of God’s grace by putting confidence in ourselves, our careers, our families, our health, our talent, etc. etc. I began to visualize the act of opening my hands and “letting go” of my grip on those illusions. I asked God to help me stop clinging to things that brought me pain and regret. I opened myself to his grace. And he poured it in! Not just the little bit of myself I was able to offer him, but up to the top of my head and overflowing.

    Like

    1. Nancy, your post is a reminder that suffering comes in all forms,some easier to name and talk about than others. Thank you for the excellent reference to our illusion of having control we do not actually have. So thankful you have been able to let go of the illusion and live in greater reality even when painful!lovr your reference to I Cor.12:9, which is always Ana blessed reminder of the indicativestatements we live by and plant our fret on!
      Still remember your visit here with joy!
      Love, Katy

      Like

  11. Recently, because of a situation I am relating to, I have become more painfully aware of the devastation of sin. The consequences of unrestored behavior (sin) is far reaching. Not only does it affect the one who denies his/her own problem but it also injures those who are standing closest to that soul. The only solution is to confess and surrender to the healing power of Christ. This is the reality of our problem: We cannot fix sin for ourselves or another. How then? What is the indicative answer:

    “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Thy presence, and do not take Thy Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Thy salvation, and sustain me with a willing spirit. Then I will teach transgressors Thy ways. and sinners will be converted to Thee.” Ps 51:10-13

    Like

    1. Such insight Betsy and so much truth to the pain we choose to live with rather than cast off to live in resolution. He takes all that is wrong and makes it right is a phrase from a song by Lauren Daiglethat I love. I think it’s speaking of in the enswhenHe returns but even this is comfort ,that the brokenness does not go on forever. Hope we can carry this conversTion on in person soon.Love

      Like

  12. Hymn, “How Firm a Foundation,” stanza 2 (Isaiah 41:10)
    “Fear not, I am with thee, o be not dismayed,
    For I am thy God, and will still give thee aid.
    I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand
    Upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.”

    Like

  13. Psalm 27:1-2: ” The LORD is my light and my salvation-whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life-of whom shall I be afraid?”

    Like

  14. Thank you for these truths that we so often overlook. Elizabeth Elliott said,”The secret is Christ in me, not me in a different set of circumstances..” That is so easy for me to reiterate when I’m not dealing with your issues. We continue to hold your family before the Lord each day.

    Like

  15. In life we are faced with many challenges like mountains to be climbed. Here is one indicative truth that I’ve carried with me on many of my journeys: “It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect. He makes my feet like feet of deer; He enables me to stand on the heights” (2 Sam. 22:33-34, NIV).

    Like

    1. What a great quote of an indicative!love. The verse! Thankful you’re okay, at least as far as I know🤔Tell Maureen I think her writings are outstandingM! Such imagination n creativity in one person! Love to lewickis fro keys!congrats to David on his engagement! Hooray n hallelujah!
      Katy

      Like

  16. The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk [not to stand still in terror, but to walk] and make spiritual progress upon my high places of trouble, suffering, and responsibility! Habakkuk 3:19 (amplified version) This verse has become the bulwark of my life!!

    Like

  17. Thank you for courageously sharing about your recovery with us and acknowledging the Lord’s steadfastness and faithfulness in the midst of the adversity. Psalm 65:5 has spoken to me the last few days
    You faithfully answer our prayers with awesome deeds, O God our savior.
    With Love and Hugs,
    Terry Pilon

    Like

  18. The truth statement that I often think about, particularly when things do not seem good around us, is “You are good and do good,” Psalm 119:68. Sometimes difficult life circumstances can confuse my understanding of who God is, but this simple verse clears things up for me and points me back to the truth. Thank you so much for your words and for giving us your truth statements to renew our minds with!

    Like

  19. Isaiah 41:13
    For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says ” Do not fear, I will help you “.
    This verse reminds me, He is in control and there for me. I am so thankful for God’s Word, which is provided to remind me He is in control !

    Like

Leave a Reply

