Trusting Anyway

-Written by Anna-

All of my life I have watched my Mom face her fears and not run from them! If you know her, you will know that one of her biggest fears is flying. In fact on a particularly difficult day in the midst of this journey, she cracked a half smile at me and said, “It could be worse, I could be on a plane right now!” Yet not once has it stopped her from traveling to Africa multiple times with my Dad and coming to visit me in Germany, etc. She has never let those fears stop her from following Jesus and I often think of her when trying to face into my own fears! What a gift she has given her daughters! God could have delivered her of that fear years ago (in fact we have asked Him to do just that over and over!) but instead of using that as an excuse to not get on those planes she continually steps out and trusts Him anyway! This has become almost a new catch phrase for me. Trusting anyway!

I don’t understand, I don’t see the whole picture, I wish there was another way, I wish He would instantly deliver her from all the suffering and fears, and YET I/we trust Him anyway!

I want to face into those fears,not running away but instead leaning hard on Jesus as we face tomorrow and the days after.

Mom is fearful about surgery tomorrow. The honest truth is we all are. We went in for surgery eleven weeks ago tomorrow and our lives were forever altered. And yet once again I am watching my Mother face into those fears! I pray hourly sometimes that Jesus would set her free of all anxiety and fear and so far He has not chosen to do so and YET He is here and she is trusting anyway! She is not running from it or letting it take her under. She is taking those fears and anxieties to Jesus and trusting anyway!

A long time family friend sent Mom the words to the Charles Wesley hymn, ‘Jesus, Lover of my Soul.’ The words are so good and feel so appropriate for us this week. I thought I would share them with you! I particularly love the line: “Cover my defenseless head with the shadow of Thy wing.” Mom’s brain is quite literally defenseless without the bone flap and we are so thankful that Jesus has covered her head through these days!

Thank you for your continued prayers for us and particularly for surgery tomorrow. We will update you as soon as we are able.

Jesus, Lover of my Soul

1.Jesus, lover of my soul, let me to Thy bosom fly,

While the nearer waters roll, while the tempest still is high.

Hide me, O my Savior, hide, till the storm of life is past;

Safe into the haven guide; O receive my soul at last.

2.Other refuge have I none, hangs my helpless soul on Thee;

Leave, ah! leave me not alone, still support and comfort me.

All my trust on Thee is stayed, all my help from Thee I bring;

Cover my defenseless head with the shadow of Thy wing.

3.Wilt Thou not regard my call? Wilt Thou not accept my prayer?

Lo! I sink, I faint, I fall—Lo! on Thee I cast my care;

Reach me out Thy gracious hand! While I of Thy strength receive,

Hoping against hope I stand, dying, and behold, I live.

4.Thou, O Christ, art all I want, more than all in Thee I find;

Raise the fallen, cheer the faint, heal the sick, and lead the blind.

Just and holy is Thy Name, I am all unrighteousness;

False and full of sin I am; Thou art full of truth and grace.

5.Plenteous grace with Thee is found, grace to cover all my sin;

Let the healing streams abound; make and keep me pure within.

Thou of life the fountain art, freely let me take of Thee;

Spring Thou up within my heart; rise to all eternity.

41 thoughts on “Trusting Anyway

  1. Chers Stanley, Katy, Anna … nous vous gardons dans nos coeurs et nos prières chaque jour.
    Nous voudrions être à vos côtés comme vous l’avez été au nôtre, il y a bien des années.
    L’équipe d’intercession de “Narkis Street Congregation” à Jérusalem (Israël) se tient également avec vous dans la prière.
    Nous prions particulièrement pour l’opération de demain et demandons à Dieu de vous donner Sa paix, Sa sécurité et de vous délivrer de toute crainte.
    Il tient toute chose entre Ses mains et Il est le parfait Médecin.
    Que chacun de vous soit béni et fortifié.

    “Ne vous inquiétez de rien, mais en toute chose faites connaître vos besoins à Dieu par des prières et des supplications, dans une attitude de reconnaissance.
    Et la paix de Dieu, qui dépasse tout ce que l’on peut comprendre, gardera votre cœur et vos pensées en Jésus-Christ. “Philippiens 4 6-7

    Like

  2. Trusting Anyway is quite a chorus and we join you all in singing as we both face tomorrow, praying that God would carry her in the hollow of His hands, she will fly again

    Like

  3. Amen… to all the above. We will be doing battle on our knees for all of you. Love you guys so much, and God loves you more than we.

    Like

  4. Thinking about and praying for all of you tomorrow. Katy, your family, doctors, all of you.

    May God hold you very close today, and may you feel His very near presence.

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing this deep truth with us. All of you have been a wonderful example of rest, trust, and total reliance on Jesus. Know we are coming in agreement with Jesus’ special prayers for our special Katy and all. May the surgeon feel the presence of the Holy Spirit as He guides in the surgery. May the anesthesiologist be guided in just the right exact amount to give her–not too little nor too much. May all those assisting the surgeon sense His power and may all family and friends sense His peace that passes all human understanding. Love you all and prayers continue.

    Like

  6. Anna, so beautifully written and such a testimony to the presence of Jesus in your lives. We do pray for Katy, Stan and all of you as you face tomorrow and the surgery. Jesus, Lover of my Soul is such a wonderful hymn and an encouragement to all. We are diligently praying for healing and help and wholeness. He is Able! Gail and Judy McQueen

    Like

  7. At times like this I have to remind myself that nothing is going to happen that the Lord doesn’t already know about. Will be praying for her and your family that He will give you the ability to trust and not worry. Sounds impossible but He can do it. He knows us best and what we need and when we need it. We serve an awesome God!

    Like

  8. I prayed for you all, especially dear Katy & Stan at Good Shepherd AGC in Nairobi this am and again at the Nest when I got home. Just wanted you to know you are in my heart and mind and wanted to send love from Kenya! So thankful for you getting on those planes and coming our way so many times, Katy (& Stan)! One of my favorite verses, “For I am the LORD your God Who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, ‘Do not fear, I will help you.'” Isaiah 41:13. May it bless your hearts today. Big hugs!

    Like

  9. Praying with you, as did my ladies prayer group here in Nairobi. Praying with confidence that God will guide the hands of the surgeon and other caregivers in every step of the surgery tomorrow.

    Like

  10. What a perfect hymn in preparation for all the unknowns of tomorrow’s surgery. Praying for His wings of healing to cover Katy. Love, love, love from us.

    Like

  11. Praying for you Katy and Stan and trusting for a successful surgery tomorrow! Grabbing a line from “Jesus Lover of My Soul” above, “Let the healing streams abound!”. God loves you, is protecting you, and is in control!

    Like

  12. Thank you for sharing! We are praying (and will continue to) for Katy regarding her surgery tomorrow. All of you are included in our prayers.

    Like

  13. We are praying for the Lord’s almighty hands to indeed cover Katy tomorrow and protect her, guide the surgeons and all who care for her, and give you all a peace that passes all understanding. Thank you for sharing the reality of how hard it is to trust God at times, but that we can trust him anyway – even when what we are experiencing doesn’t make sense. Katy – God is with you always! He is right there! You are doing what we all should do at all times – trust him and him alone…not our own strength or wisdom or gifts or abilities, or even those of others. He is our help, our healer, the lifter of our heads. Praying for his presence to be powerfully felt and known by you and Stan and the whole family – even the medical staff. We love you!

    Like

  14. My tears as well as my prayers are with you. love and blessings this day…what a statement of faith at the core. “nevertheless…not my will but yours be done.” Surely He understands as well.

    Like

  15. I am praying and have been and will continue to pray you through this surgery..Your life is an amazing testimony of trusting in Jesus! He is with you.. And I pray He brings you through this and your road to recovery will be much quicker than you can imagine!
    Eph.3:20-21

    Like

  16. Stan, Katy and family,
    Tim and I continue to uphold you in prayer as you continue in your healing journey. I often awake at night and prayer for you Katy -for peace, for comfort, for healing and rest. I am reminded of Psalm4:8 “In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.” I will be praying this for you especially tonight as you await your surgery tomorrow. May His peace give you rest this night. God bless!
    Love, Nancy & Tim

    Like

  17. Praying with and for you all, especially for the surgeons as they do the necessary work to bring healing for Katy. TRUSTING GOD with you! Mary

    >

    Like

  18. Holding you, dear Katy, Stan, Anna, Liz and Sarah close in prayer . Thank you for this beautifully penned reminder of Trusting Anyway in the storm and uncertainty of life. We are trusting with you and praying that this next step in your journey will bring you that much closer to complete healing. We love you all so much and are lifting you up along with the entire medical team involved in the surgery tomorrow.

    Like

  19. Only a few weeks before Katy went into surgery I shared with her the following verse which is still true for her and for all of you who love her so dearly."Let the beloved of the LORD rest secure’

    Like

  20. Praying the presence of Jesus in the operating room tomorrow and that it is felt by all in that OR. Peace for Katy in the surgical waiting area and peace for Stan, Anna, Sarah and Liz while you wait. I love the trusting anyway. God bless you all. Praying for miracles to occur. Prayed with a group of women in room 326 today at LCC, some powerful prayers were lifted up on Katy’s behalf, the doctors and staff and of course Stan and the girls! Sweet rest for you tonight Katy. Thank you for your inspiration. Love, Nancy

    Like

  21. Please know that we are praying and trusting with you.

    With love

    Dot and Sherman

    Dot Standifer Reed Sent from my iPhone

    615-579-0718 294 Flatt Rock Road Lebanon, Tennessee 37090

    There is joy in the journey.

    Like

  22. Wonderful words in that hymn! I’m so grateful God shows up when we don’t or can’t understand the whys of life. Hard moments well they are just hard. I’ve have never felt more embraced by our Heavenly Father than in those hard places when we can’t answer the whys, when it doesn’t make sense, when all has seemed broken. But wait He has the perfect peace to give me, the perfect love to fill me, and miracles in the making. Jerry and I are praying for comfort, and peace and a healing to be complete. We love you all, because of the cross, All is Well.

    Like

  23. Thanks for keeping us so informed. It helps us know how to pray intelligently for you each step of this difficult journey. Each post we read has challenged and spoken to us in various ways. We have already been praying for Katy’s surgery tomorrow even before reading your post. We are trusting Him for special peace for dear Katy and for all of you before, during, and after the surgery. Sometime I hope to be able to visit Katy and play a song for her that God brought to my remembrance for her a few weeks ago. I think it will speak to her heart as it has to mine. Be assured of our continual love and prayers for our precious neighbors. With our love, Priscilla and Dennis

    Like

  24. Praying for you all. Thanks for sharing so openly. Believing God will do far and above all we can ask or think. You have already been seeing that. PTL!

    Like

  25. Katy, Ana, Sarah, Liz and Stan I am so praying for every single one of you. You are the children of God and he is holding you closely to his breast. I pray for wisdom for everyone that comes in contact with Katy tomorrow and every day. Clear the minds dear Lord of everyone involved in the surgery tomorrow. Make them alert and able to see clearly what must be done. Lord Jesus be right there with Katy and hold her.
    I love you all dearly. We’re coming out soon to see you so Katy get through surgery and get ready for visitors. No big deal visitors just me and Tom. Love you, talk to you soon.

    Like

  26. We are lifting your family in prayer today. Thank you for openly sharing your journey with us. So powerful.

    Kim, Frank & Mason Turcotte (LCS w/ Jaden)

    Like

  27. Praying for you all the He will give His peace that passes all understanding!
    Thank you for your posts. Your testimony is a blessing and as always, a great example of how to walk through life’s difficulties pressing in to God and trusting Him every step of the way!
    God bless!

    Like

  28. We are lifting your family up in prayer this morning. Thank you for sharing this hard journey with us.
    Kim, Frank & Mason Turcotte (LCS w/ Jaden)

    Like

  29. Great old hymn with great words and great meaning! It was the first hymn I learned to play on the piano as a child, so it holds a special place in my heart. Just want you to know, you are all on my heart and mind today…praying continuously….. Blessed to be a part of your journey, Marilyn Hannay

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  30. Praying earnestly for all of you today. We understand something of what you are experiencing, and can witness that He is worthy of all our trust!

    In Heavenly Love Abiding — Anna Waring

    In heavenly love abiding, no change my heart shall fear.
    And safe is such confiding, for nothing changes here.
    The storm may roar without me, my heart may low be laid,
    But God is round about me, and can I be dismayed?

    Wherever He may guide me, no want shall turn me back.
    My Shepherd is beside me, and nothing can I lack.
    His wisdom ever waking, His sight is never dim.
    He knows the way He’s taking, and I will walk with Him!

    Green pastures are before me, which yet I have not seen.
    Bright skies will soon be over me, where darkest clouds have been.
    My hope I cannot measure, my path to life is free.
    My Savior has my treasure, and He will walk with me!

    Like

  31. Brooke and I were so touched this morning upon reading the words of the hymn. I wish that you could have been with us as Brooke was praying through her tears for today’s work in the OR. We Love and care for all of you, and please know that your held very close to our hearts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

