Dependence

*Written by Liz Lind

Probably 90% of those who are following this blog have been impacted by Mom’s life in some way before the stroke. And for most of you, that impact came in a lonely moment. Mom has always had a heart for the lonely. In fact, it seems her mission in life is to find the lonely and surround them with love and family. That is the essence of the heart of God. In Psalm 68 it says that He is “A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows” and that He “sets the lonely in families.” My Mom has always understood that.

We were not made to do life alone.

Yesterday Mom made the daily difficult journey from her bed to a wheelchair. Though she is getting stronger, this is the hardest part of her day. Just getting into a wheelchair, on a hard day, can take multiple people on all sides of her. As we took her into the bathroom to brush her teeth, tears began to well up in her eyes. She looked at her Occupational Therapist (who was brushing her hair) and said, “I can’t believe how much we need each other. We were made to need each other. I can’t do a single thing alone.”

Though this is a painfully hard reality, it is a beautiful picture of how God meant it to be. We were never meant to do life alone! In fact, we can’t. We are brought into the world because someone else is willing to bear us. We are kept safe and raised by someone else. We are even brought to Jesus (almost always) through someone else. God designed the world in such a way that we are not independent but dependent.

We forget this. Mom is our illustration.

We are all just as dependent on each other and certainly on Jesus. Mom doesn’t have the luxury of forgetting like we do. She is reminded each morning.

If you do a word study in the Bible on how many times God talks about orphans, widows, and refugees (foreigners, aliens), you will be amazed.

  • “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress…” James 1:27
  • “A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling. God sets the lonely in families…” (Ps. 68:4-6)
  • “The Lord watches over the foreigner and sustains the fatherless and the widow…” (Ps. 146:9)
  • and on and on and on….

Why does he focus so much on these groups of people? Because by nature of their circumstances, they are ALONE. And God designed the world in such a way that “it is not good for man to be alone.”

Because of my Mom’s current dependence, we are seeing this reality in a new way. We can rarely ever leave Mom “alone.” We take shifts and tag team. Yet times come where we must leave her. And times come in all our lives where loneliness is inescapable. The world does not work in the way God designed. Yet even in this, God has made it possible for us to never be alone! Right before He left the world He promised us, “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you” (Jn. 14:18). His very presence makes it impossible for us to EVER be alone. What an incredible comfort.

Today, I challenge you to do three things:

  • Take time to remember your own dependence on God and others.
  • Thank someone who has walked with you, held you, and carried you in moments where you couldn’t do life alone.
  • And ask Jesus to lead you to one lonely person this week. Be His hands and feet in a lonely world.

Thank you to each one of you who have surrounded us in our time of need. We have NOT been left alone! His presence has been with us and the Body of Christ has been around us. Thank you!

As we head into Mom’s surgery on Monday, we feel apprehension and fear. But praise God, even though we can’t go into that surgery room with Mom, Jesus goes with her. Praise God for His presence WITH us and your presence all around us!

 

 

38 thoughts on “Dependence

  1. Thank you for your wonderful “story”. It burns my eyes.Your father is not the only great writer in your family:)Kay Kinlaw-Presutti

    Like

  2. Beautifully said, Liz. Such important but hard lessons. I will continue to pray for peace as you all get ready for Monday’s surgery.

    Like

  3. Stan and Katy- I don’t know your daughters, but in the midst of this valley,you must be giving praise for their lives and their walk with the Lord. Some of that don’t have those believers yet and are still praying for that. You daughters seem terrific people. Praise God.

    Like

  4. Praying, thank you so much for the update; I was praying this morning for her surgery and I wasn’t sure when it was…………I am so thankful that I can hold all of you up during surgery. It must be so scary for her. I am so, so very sorry and I carry you all in my heart daily. Please hug Pastor Stan and her for me, I miss and love them very much.

    I will do the three items that you suggest; I am sure it will be beyond a blessing.

    Like

  5. So eloquently stated – and we will be praying for dear Katy and her surgery. Thank you for your challenge, your commitment, your love – what a blessing Stan and Katy have to have raised such godly daughters! Amen! Bobbi

    Like

  6. Thank you for your words of encouragement so beautifully tied with your mom’s circumstances. We forget so easily our need for God and he love for our dependence ON him. I needed that reminder this week as I prepare to tell my story at the Asbury Women’s Retreat. I pray God will use your words in my talk as I prepare. Continuing to pray for all of you as you depend on our Master healer and Savior.

    Like

  7. Have not stopped praying since you began this journey and will enlist my local friends in prayer for Monday’s surgery. Peace be with you all and not the worlds idea of peace but the peace that only God can give. ❤️🙏

    Like

  8. Tears were rolling down my face as I read your beautiful, eloquent, and heartfelt words. I daily keep your family in my prayers. Thank you for your words that not only update us on what is happening but also challenge us to greater love and care for others. As you have blessed us with your words, I pray for immeasurable blessings for Katy and for all of you. I will pray for her surgery on Monday too.

    Like

  9. A great reminder that we need each other…to rejoice on the mountains; to weep in the valleys; to praise with and to pray for and with one another, to live life together. The Bible abounds with this truth…Genesis 1 when God said “Let us…” We are praying for peace, rest, and His defining presence on Monday. Love you.

    Like

  10. Dear Elizabeth and family, Your post is so beautifully written and a much-needed reminder to us to really care about each other. It also reminds me of a little book written years ago by Reuben Welch: We Really Do Need Each Other. If you can find it, it is a nice read, written in different style, but thought-provoking. We heard him speak at Hollow Rock Campmeeting in the 1980’s, I think.
    Our family and the Cherry Run family is praying for you all. Be assured many are praying for you all. Love, Gail and Judy McQueen

    Like

  11. Such a difficult way to learn of some of God’s ways. Thank you for this reminder of what is needed and so often overlooked. My prayers for your family are a regular part of my day. I will be praying as your mom goes into surgery on Monday.

    Like

  12. Elisabeth, I am just so thrilled to read what you wrote and so thankful that you wrote it. What great amount of truth you encapsulated in this blog. We will be praying that you all will continue to feel never alone, as not only have us here been surrounding you, but also that great crowd of witnesses in the heavenly realms cheering you on, as we are. I sang this old hymn to my granddaughter last night, and was praying for you all. “There is a place of quiet rest, near to the heart of God. A place where sin cannot molest, near to the heart of God. Oh, Jesus, Blessed Redeemer, sent from the heart of God; Hold us who wait before thee. near to the heart of God. There is a place of comfort sweet, near to the heart of God. A place where me and my Savior meet, near to the heart of God. Oh, Jesus…” Yes, I will do as you suggested. Your Mom did come along side me at a very lonely time in my life and I will forever be grateful to her and to God for gifting her to us. As your Dad has said, she is a saint in my book, but, more importantly, in His.

    Like

  13. Dear Liz, what a wonderful gift of expressing yourself so beautifully about your Mom,your family’s journey & recognizing our need for each other. Thank you for the update on you precious Mom. My love &sprayers to you all.

    Like

  14. You are right in saying we all have been blessed by your Mother’s kindness and love. That is why we continue to pray for her — and you all. Thank you for this update. Your beautiful faith and moving updates mean so much to us, your “family.”

    Like

  15. How wonderful are the feet who bring good news!!! Your words touched my heart so deeply. Your words expressed are seasoned with grace and wisdom. What a beautiful testimony of you and your sisters faith in Jesus during this difficult time and that you can be there for you dad. Keeping you in prayer. Thank you for sharing with us.

    Like

  16. I’ve been away on the job for 11 days and feel I must have missed an entry- what is this surgery for? I want to be praying on Monday as I drive back from Boston. I share your updates with everyone I meet. So many people are praying for dear Katy! Dear God, thank you for all the ways your ministering angels are present in the Key family…we pray your tender mercies will encourage Katy’s spirit and ENLIVEN her weak limbs— to your glory and honor!

    Like

    1. Hi Libby! Thanks for your faithful prayer. After her stroke, my Mom’s brain was dangerously swelling. They had to do a craniotomy, removing part of her skull to give the brain room to swell. This piece of her skull has been off since. This upcoming surgery is to place that back on. Gruesome, I know. We are excited to get this back and feel it will help in her recovery process. But the return to the hospital and to the OR feels traumatic. Please continue to pray for courage and strength! As well as an easy surgery and a good and even quick recovery. Thanks, Libby! We love you!

      Like

  17. Worthy reminder…Katy’s heart for the hurting has always been a reflection of God’s ministering love for us. We continue in prayer for you all.

    Like

  18. Praying for your upcoming surgery, Katy and about your pain, nausea etc. Literally a day doesn’t go by that I think of you all.

    Like

  19. In reading step 2 in the action points of this post, I couldn’t help but think of Katy. She was there for me in a lonely time in my own life. She made me feel so loved and important. Please tell her thank you again today. Thanks, Elisabeth, for reminding us all to look for the lonely and broken. Loved this post with the reminders of our dependence on others, and others on us.

    Like

  20. Katy, I hold you in my heart asking our Lord and Savior to heal your body and to lead you through this coming surgery with ease and grace. I also ask for His wisdom for your doctor and nurses. You are special Katy the G. and I love you dearly.
    Love and prayers to and for all of you,

    Lorelei

    Like

  21. You are right Liz we have receive from Katy the gracious touch of compassion when Miriam had fibroid and she connected us to Doctors. We carry her in our bowels every day and pray that every aspect of her surgery will be used by God for His glory and we shall sing a new song. Every crisis in life is an opportunity to deepen our knowledge of God , continuing to pray along

    Like

    1. You have such a way with words. Thanks for sharing and challenging us! I am so thankful that God created us to be in relationship with others and more importantly with Him. Continuing to pray for your mom and entire family!

      Like

  22. You have such a way with words! So thankful that God created us to be in relationships and that He is always with us. Praying for your mom and your family!

    Like

  23. You have such a way with words! Thanks for sharing and for encouraging. I am so grateful God created us to be in relationship with others and with Him! Continuing to lift up your mom and your family in prayer!

    Like

  24. As I read today’s blog, I thought of the love I have for Katy and began to pray for her as I was thinking about the message I was immersed in reading. My heart is calling out for complete restoration in God’s timing. In her helplessness, she is the one to whom we are still drawn. She is ministering mightily without words, but with great courage. Thank you Lord for allowing me to see and experience this holy moment of prayer. I love you Katy. “Aunt” Jean Burns.

    Like

  25. Thanks for all the sharing by each one. You all are such a great encouragement to us who reads your posts. THANKS! Praying for each one of you. Love, Mary >

    Like

  26. Thank you for your posts, for keeping us informed, for inspiring and educating us! Katy, we are praying for you and your family daily, and praying especially now for your upcoming surgery. Rest, beloved daughter, in the hands of the Father. He holds you in the palm of His hand, carefully forming you, shaping you, loving you, and tenderly carrying you close to His heart.

    Like

  27. Good Morning Katy and Family,
    Once again, tears well.up in my eyes as I read your painful, yet courageous story. Yes, Katy, you did touch my life with your quiet confidence and strength. You May not have realized that because it was “my Pastor” who listened and encouraged me in hard times. I praise God for you both.
    And yes, I remember you in prayer daily, especially when some very minor little hurt causes me pain. I think of you and praise God for His care for me and for you!
    Thank you for sharing your difficult journey; it serves me as a devotional to the wonderful love of our Father in all situations. He will never leave us or forsake us.
    Love and prayers,
    Helen

    Like

  28. We surely do need each other, always, in our walk with the Lord, and in “life in general.” This post reminded me of how helpless I was when I had progressive MS. As I read, I had to lift my eyes to heaven to thank Jesus for touching me and healing me. I’m expecting Him to do the same for Katy, for His glory!

    Like

Leave a Reply

