An Ode to Nurses

-a poem by Stan Key

Just when it seemed we were under a curse

The Lord came to visit disguised as a nurse!

The touch of her hand and the smile on her face

Gave hope in the night, like a channel of grace.

My story is one that so many could tell, 

For those who have suffered will know it quite well.  

When sickness or surgery put them in bed

And dark thoughts and hopelessness filled them with dread,

They too learned how nurses, like angels of light

Brought faith and brought courage to get through the night.

Now that Katy and I have joined sufferer’s ranks,

We want to find ways to give nurses our thanks.

When life is a lark and the skies are all blue

The role of a nurse has no meaning to you.

You may even question why those who are sane

Would choose a career that has nothing to gain.

For nurses are those who are given the task

No one in their right mind ever would ask! 

Bed pans and vomit, foul smells in the air,

Contagious diseases that lurk everywhere.

And when they are tending to someone whose bleeding

Their beeper goes off for another whose needing 

Their expert attention; unless they are fast

The down-the-hall patient surely won’t last.

For six weeks my wife has been stuck in a bed,

Paralysis, nausea, pains in the head.

It seemed we’d been given a difficult cup,

And sometimes we both felt like just giving up.  

But just when it seemed things could not be more worse, 

The door would swing open and in walked a nurse!

Whatever the issue, whatever the need,

She’d gracefully smile and accomplish the deed.  

Thank God for nurses who answered the call,

To meet needs of others no matter how small.

My song is intended to honor and praise,

The ones who serve others for all of their days.

________

Update:

Although there were delays and Mom wasn’t feeling well, the Lord sustained her through three therapies and a move! One nurse and two therapists even asked if they could come visit her at Brookdale (the new facility). Everyone waved her goodbye and were sad to see her go! Thank you to so many who prayed us through this transition! Please pray for a good first night and day as we all transition to this new normal. We are thankful for the way each one of you has carried us through each part of this journey.

29 thoughts on “An Ode to Nurses

  1. I love your poems Stan! You are a gifted writer. Praying this new transition goes well. Loved your Wow is Mom upside down! Your humor helps your sense of perspective I’m sure.

    Like

  2. Stan’s gratitude for nurses, that I am certain is shared by Katy, is a gentle reminder to keep my eyes open during suffering for those Jesus has sent to minister to me. Precious thought! Stan and Katy, we have spent this past month in the hospital with Dennis’s father but rejoice because yesterday years of prayers were answered when his father asked Jesus to be his Lord. The faithfulness of our Father is never-ending. Love y’all and sorry we haven’t been around this month.

    Like

  3. That is a fabulous tribute to nurses! Thank you for sharing your heart in your journey. May the Lord keep His Hands on all of your family and give you peace and strength. We continue to pray and trust for healing. We love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What an awesome tribute to nurses, Stan. I’m sure they appreciate the tribute and the fact that you do not take their care for granted. Thank you for the update on Katy. Still praying here in Ohio.

    Like

  5. Beautifully written and great portrayal of nurses Stan. The good ones are true Angels.

    Please know we pray for Katie and the Key family every single day! Love you guys.

    Catherine & Greg Zampier

    >

    Like

  6. Last night I was anguishing over why God could possibly ask you and Katy to endure such trials as these and how He could POSSIBLY redeem this pain … and this morning, once again, I can hear His answer. He continues to use you two to bless all you come into contact with by completely shining His Glory wherever you go! And, once again, we are blessed!! Great tribute of love in this ode to nurses!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Good morning 😊! I’ve been praying over the transition. I pray Jesus has been so close and tangible there with you all. I loved the poem for nurses!!! May I print it out? Some of our nurses are weary, and there are a few who don’t know that Jesus holds them. Love to you all! ❤ Liz

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

    Like

  8. Stan…God has given you a gift for words and for writing. Not everyone has it, but you certainly do. One day I want to own the book, “The Poetry of Stanley Key.” (See picture of a happy smile inserted here!) Not everyone has the gift of encouragement and service, but most people who are nurses certainly do, as your poem so aptly states. Along with you, I am so thankful for the nurses who have cared for me through childbirth, pneumonia and surgeries. This morning, with you and Katy, my prayer of thanksgiving and petition is going to be for those who work in the field of nursing. And I’ll be praying, too, that Katy and you find the nurses you encounter in this new place of care will have all the beautiful attributes you’ve described in your poem. Tim and I pray for you each day, both together and individually.

    Like

  9. Continually praying and trusting that every detail in Katy’s care is being brought to the minds of the caregivers by The One who holds us in the palm of His mighty right hand. From Katy’s head to each of her toes, praying to the Great Physician to come, touch Katy’s body and continually speak Your life giving whispers to the depths of her soul…we praise You Father for carrying each family member and leading every decision. Asking for Your Kingdom to come to each family member in Your mighty Name, the Name above all names, the One who is All Knowing, All Seeing, Fighting our battles for us, Jesus.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dear Stan,
    You have the gift of writing and not many can put those words together so beautifully. Nurses are special as I know first hand. Having my sister,Jen as a nurse, I know how special they are. Praying for God to continue to heal and carry you through the new place and to send more angels in the way of nurses, therapists and doctors for Katy.

    Like

  11. this poem is amazing, Stan! Can I share it with nurses I know? I am sure it would bless them to know that they are so needed, so crucial to life, so appreciated. I will give you credit!! We continue to pray for Katy and for you and the girls as you transition to another phase in this amazing journey and continue to walk the painful path of healing. We love you! In fact, we just met a woman yesterday who used to go to LCC and just raved about you and your preaching. we had a little “stan and katy love fest” We miss you and are praying!

    Like

  12. Our family moved away from Albany 9 years ago. As we left LCC we were hoping to find a Bible centered church in our new location. God never fails and he led us to a wonderful church. I had kind of stumbled into your blog/ updates I am reminded how great God is from our time Albany and at LCC and now, how he cares in all situations. Thank you for your words about nurses. My sister is a nurse and many times it is thankless job. But many do because they have passion for helping others. I will continue to pray as your journey continues.
    Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise, give thanks to him and praise his name. For the Lord is good and his LOVE endures forever, his faithfulness continues through all generations. Psalm 100:4-5

    Like

  13. I am so inspired by all of your posts through this difficult time. Every day I read your blogs and progress and feel God at work among you, among us with your words of God’s faithfulness. Thank you for openly sharing your journey with us. I am one who has been changed and encouraged by your every post! I loved this poem of gratitude to nurses, the unsung ones. My guardian sister, Sue Ike, was a nurse and she was certainly that kind of person you described.

    Like

  14. Love the poem👍, it makes me feel so good about being a nurse and how God gives me the heart to be a nurse. Will continue to pray for Katy to settle in the new home for her recovery. Amen!!

    Like

  15. What a beautifully written tribute to nurses! I agree!!! When I was hospitalized for 7 days a few weeks ago, it was a nurse named “Grace” who brought hope and healing to my weakened body and mind. I renamed her , “Amazing Grace” and thanked her profusely each time God mercifully brought her to my bedside. Nursing is one of the noblest professions, what incredible sacrifice and compassion each day, and hard work! Lord please bless Katy with your best doctors, nurses and techs and let Katy be encouraged and healed, in Jesus name I pray.. To God be the glory!

    Like

  16. What a thoughtful and beautiful poem, Pastor Stan! Through the pain and suffering, you finds the tender and grateful words of encouragements and love to others. Only God sees the gorgeous picture behind these earthy trials. Praying for Katy’s recovery. God will heal her completely. He loves those who love Him.

    Psalm 25 New American Standard Bible (NASB)

    Prayer for Protection, Guidance and Pardon.
    A Psalm of David.

    25 To You, O Lord, I lift up my soul.
    2 O my God, in You I trust,
    Do not let me be ashamed;
    Do not let my enemies exult over me.
    3 Indeed, none of those who wait for You will be ashamed;
    [a]Those who deal treacherously without cause will be ashamed.
    4 Make me know Your ways, O Lord;
    Teach me Your paths.
    5 Lead me in Your truth and teach me,
    For You are the God of my salvation;
    For You I wait all the day.
    6 Remember, O Lord, Your compassion and Your lovingkindnesses,
    For they have been [b]from of old.
    7 Do not remember the sins of my youth or my transgressions;
    According to Your lovingkindness remember me,
    For Your goodness’ sake, O Lord.
    8 Good and upright is the Lord;
    Therefore He instructs sinners in the way.
    9 He leads the [c]humble in justice,
    And He teaches the [d]humble His way.
    10 All the paths of the Lord are lovingkindness and truth
    To those who keep His covenant and His testimonies.
    11 For Your name’s sake, O Lord,
    Pardon my iniquity, for it is great.
    12 Who is the man who fears the Lord?
    He will instruct him in the way he should choose.
    13 His soul will abide in [e]prosperity,
    And his [f]descendants will inherit the [g]land.
    14 The [h]secret of the Lord is for those who fear Him,
    [i]And He will make them know His covenant.
    15 My eyes are continually toward the Lord,
    For He will [j]pluck my feet out of the net.
    16 Turn to me and be gracious to me,
    For I am lonely and afflicted.
    17 [k]The troubles of my heart are enlarged;
    Bring me out of my distresses.
    18 Look upon my affliction and my [l]trouble,
    And forgive all my sins.
    19 Look upon my enemies, for they are many,
    And they hate me with violent hatred.
    20 Guard my soul and deliver me;
    Do not let me be ashamed, for I take refuge in You.
    21 Let integrity and uprightness preserve me,
    For I wait for You.
    22 Redeem Israel, O God,
    Out of all his troubles.

    By His Grace,
    Tatyana

    Like

  17. It is a blessing and an encouragement reading this beautifully crafted poem, it provides an opening into the state of heart like Paul I praise God for your tenacity in tough times;
    We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair;
    persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed;
    always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. – 2 Corinthians 4:8-10
    Thank God for the transition, continuing in prayers

    Like

  18. Stan you have a gift with words! As a nurse, I loved this! What a heart you have to see beyond your stresses to show such a grateful heart! Not all nurses have families like yours—you will be a blessing to your “new” nurses, for sure! We will ask God to give all of you peace and rest in this new facility. Hugs to the whole Key family!

    Like

  19. Stan, your poems are amazing and this one is no exception.Even In your grief and struggle you lift others up…how utterly profound…and such a powerful picture of the grace of God pouring from you. Thank you for this beautiful picture of Jesus.

    We walk with you and Katy in our hearts daily and will unceasingly ask God to completely heal Katy and to keep you strong in your spirit. I trust that our Jehovah Rapha is working. O Lord my God, I cried to you and you have healed me (Psalms 30:2).

    Bernadette & Paul Luciano

    Like

Leave a Reply

