The Thorn and The Veil

By Elisabeth Lind

Yesterday I got the privilege to spend the day with my Mom again! And I think I can say, for maybe the first time, it was an all together good day! She had some relief from the constant companion of nausea…and this made all the difference! We praise God!End of the Spear.jpg

After dinner she and I began to talk about Steve Saint – son of Nate Saint, a famous missionary pilot. When Steve was a young boy, his father and four other missionaries were killed by Waodoni Indians in an effort to reach this group with the Gospel. Steve devoted the rest of his life to reaching indigenous tribes and has continued to work with the Waodoni, even specifically with the man who killed his father who he has adopted into his family! If you don’t know the story, add “End of the Spear” to your 2016 book list!

In June 2012 Steve was seriously injured and partially paralyzed from the neck down. He had to relearn how to swallow, how to walk, how to use every part of his body. He even had surgery on his head to relieve pressure on his spine. His journey is remarkably similar to Mom’s! Mom and I sat and watched a few videos documenting his journey of healing and we cried many tears. There is true fellowship between those who have suffered. My Mom spoke to me afterwards and said, “when you’re suffering, the people who minister to you and the people you want with you are those who have suffered themselves – starting with Jesus himself!”

Two videos particularly stood out to us. These will not only give you a remarkable glimpse into my Mom’s experience, but will GREATLY minister TRUTH to you!

Through his pain and new perspective, Steve (and my Mom) remind us of the power of gratitude: gratitude for Christ’s suffering, His salvation, small bodily improvements… Gratitude for LIFE. They also remind us that suffering – if we embrace it – can usher us into a new and holy place of intimacy with Jesus. Just as the poem states: “I learned He never gives a thorn without this added grace, He takes the thorn to pin aside the veil which hides His face.” 

Throughout this journey there have been many moments where Mom’s suffering has been used to pin back the veil! This Sunday was one of them.

image6.JPGimage4.JPGOn Sunday some dear friends of our family came down to visit Mom. Michael and Rachel Thompson are the founders of OneWay Ministries and the ministry of Prayercast that I have the privilege of working with. They are also incredible musicians and worship leaders! My Mom has always been greatly ministered to by their music. On Sunday we were ushered in a special way into His presence through these dear friends. The veil was pulled back for a moment as we wheeled Mom out of her room for one of the first times (outside of therapy) and spent about an hour worshipping together. I couldn’t take my eyes off of her as she closed her eyes – tears streaming down her face – she was LOST in wonder, love, and praise! You don’t know the presence of God until you have church in a hospital!

Thank you Lord for the thorn that pulls back the veil.

_______________

The Thorn

by Martha Snell Nicholson

I stood a mendicant of God before His royal throne
And begged him for one priceless gift, which I could call my own.
I took the gift from out His hand, but as I would depart
I cried, “But Lord this is a thorn and it has pierced my heart.
This is a strange, a hurtful gift, which Thou hast given me.”
He said, “My child, I give good gifts and gave My best to thee.”
I took it home and though at first the cruel thorn hurt sore,
As long years passed I learned at last to love it more and more.
I learned He never gives a thorn without this added grace,
He takes the thorn to pin aside the veil which hides His face.

 

24 thoughts on “The Thorn and The Veil

  1. There is a wonderful song by Twila Paris called “Thank You for This Thorn”. Very meaningful. If you’re not familiar with it it’s well worth checking out for your Mother. Much love and many prayers…
    Liz

    Like

  2. Dearest Katy and Family, I am finding it difficult to type this message as tears flow down my face after reading this latest one from your daughter! I pray for you and your family all the time and I can only imagine a bit of what you all are going through… My family and I went through some of it 3 years ago, when my precious Ron was taken into Glory and never a complaint out of Him.. We had a similar experience with worship music in his room and I know Ronnie felt the Lord’s presence in a way none of the rest of us did! Your Mom is such an inspiration to me as I am struggling to recover from open heart surgery just 4 months ago.., I fear I do not have the gift of faith that my dear husband or your wonderful Mom have!! I am in pain and no one seems to Be able to address my many health issues that have arisen since the surgery … And yet I do have so much for which to be thankful…. As I drive off for another of the myriad of tests today, alone, except for my constant companion, Jesus, I need to Be grateful that I am up and able to walk and drive… Something I pray that Katy will be able to do again in the not too distant future! Katy, your faith has ministered to my heart beyond measure… I pray that someday I might be able to give you a hug in thanks for your mighty spirit! I pray that you will get stronger and stronger and will be restored to full health! The last I spoke with you, was at Chris Richmond’s memorial service when you shared so beautifully about dear Chris. I am so very sorry that you are having to go through this and none of us knows why and perhaps the Lord will never let us know… But He is so honored by you and your family in how you all are dealing with this adversity… This thorn that pins the veil aside!! Thank you! In Jesus’ Love, Rena Doran

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  3. Extremely powerful testimonies …such intimacy with God’s own heart. “to keep myself in continual training for the fulfillment of Thy most holy will” 19th morning John Baillie’s It seems to be ‘masterfully’ trained is to suffer as our Lord. “All the way my Savior leads me. Who have I to ask beside? Should I doubt His tender mercies who through life have been my guide? Heavenly peace, divinest comfort, Here by faith in Him to dwell. For I know what’ere befalls me. Jesus doeth all things well.” Fanny Crosby Who can stand under such conforming to His likeness? It takes utter dependence on God, who will not fail to uphold you all. “Keep you eyes above the waves”

    Like

  4. Dear Liz, Thank you for this post! I had one of my once a year paralyzing migraines this morning. I was immobilized in bed for several hours with 10/10 pain, followed by sleeping most of the afternoon. I get so frustrated with these crazy migraines and really hate when I lose a day bc of them. Thankfully it isn’t very often that I can’t battle through and keep going even with the headache. But today was not one of those days. I love the quote about the thorn especially as I have often asked God to take the headaches away but they still remain for now ! And I really enjoy reading about your mom’s journey and progress. How wonderful that she could enjoy an hour of worship with special people in her life. I wish that she weren’t suffering. She really is an inspiration to us all.

    Lots of love and prayers, Sherri

    Sherri Letchford PT, DPT, C/NDT Director of Allied Health and Clinical Head of Physiotherapy AIC Kijabe Hospital, Kenya

    >

    Like

  5. Beautiful words and reflections once more. Thanks for sharing your journey so poignantly. I know you ministered to Rachel and Michael as well. love Ruth and Dave VR

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is in suffering we can enter into another’s psyche and spirit, traveling alongside them with empathy and hope for the future. It has been when I’ve suffered with illness during Katy’s month-long journey that I am most heartbroken for her and amazed at how her faith and hope propels her forward! God is using your daily writings for our edification as well as your own emotional/spiritual process.

    Like

  7. Thank you for writing of the thorn…Beautiful…

    21 I will give you thanks, for you answered me; you have become my salvation.
    22 The stone the builders rejected has become the cornerstone;
    23 the LORD has done this, and it is marvelous in our eyes. (Psalm 118:21-23 NIV)

    We continue to pray with and for you all. We rejoice with you as we hear of Katy’s condition and of the family’s confidence in Jesus’ faithfulness. God is at work. We join you with thanksgiving. Thank you, Elizabeth, and your family for the daily posts enabling us to uphold each of you and Katy in prayer
    as you continue through this time with our Lord.

    Blessings to you,
    Esther Coy

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for this beautiful and honest witness to the great gift of God’s presence in our sufferings. In this difficult time for your mom and for your family we can see the blessing of time spent together and the healing power of the presence of family and friends! We pray for your mom daily and for all of you!!

    Much love, Darlene and Mark too

    Like

  9. That Is So True!!! His Grace expands and expands to cover and to fill-in every area of our need and to overflow to those around us. He uses the thorns in our lives not only personally but for others… Praying for you. Love, Mary

    >

    Like

  10. You will never get to the point where grace will fail you. You never come to a difficulty where you will have to say, “Here, at last, the arm of grace is withered, and I must look elsewhere for help.” –Charles Spurgeon

    >

    Like

  11. thank you for sharing this beautiful, intimate experience of worshiping the Creator, the Healer, the Lover of our souls. I am so thankful that Katy, and all of you, are being transported into the presence of Jesus! We continue to love her and pray for her and you all. His love never fails.

    Like

  12. I was praying through some of the nations on Prayercast this morning, and as I opened Aruba I recognized Katy’s sweet voice as the pray-er😊 And the song for this video is “This is my Father’s world.”
    He is still Lord, and I continue to pray that as God used you, Katy, in several of the Prayercast videos, He is continuing to use you, and His purposes are being fulfilled in you. Trusting for miracles. It was sweet to see you in these pictures. Much love.

    Like

  13. Dear Katy, sometimes I am blunt, so please forgive my earlier comment. I have been where you are, suffering gradual paralysis from MS. I was placed at the feet of Jesus and He healed me suddenly and completely. You are at His feet, and whether the healing is gradual or sudden, I am believing He will do it. And I pray the same for Steve, whose whole life is an inspiration.

    Like

  14. Thank you so much for what you shared. How deep, how difficult the pain and sorrow. I am reminded of Katy’s Sunday School class where we learned that the first necessary step in a loss is to feel it and cry. I am continuing to pray as you all are walking with Katy through this deep valley that has changed everything. I love how you in your family support one another practically and from the heart. Please give Katy my love.

    Like

  15. Thank you so much for sharing this. I heard Steve Saint speak at Southland Christian prior to his accident. He had already suffered tremendously in his lifetime at that point (having lost his father as a child and then being there when his grown daughter died of a brain aneurysm). But the presence of the Lord in his countenance and the hope beyond the suffering ministered boatloads of grace and encouragement to the listeners. Just as these blogs about Katy have been doing for all of us! I can’t tell you how much of a blessing they are to me.They really do have an anointing of the Spirit on them that ministers life to us in ways you may not even realize. Thank you again. We’ll be keeping the prayer fires hot. Phil E

    Like

  16. Liz, thank you for sharing so much. First, the sliver of your beautiful mom’s face as she sits at the table. Just that glimpse, once again, reminds me of the strength she lives and gives to all of us, as a living sacrifice. Secondly, the videos by Steve Saint broke my heart and then healed it. His reminder of how suffering is how God prepares us to adequately serve Him and others is God-breathed. LCC is currently reading through the Old Testament and we are reading through Joseph’s story. I thought the story was chiefly about forgiveness, but now I think maybe it was that only through suffering can God prepare us for true ministry. And unfortunately (humanly speaking) it seems that one suffering may just lead to greater suffering for greater service. All this to say, that I do not take your family’s (especially your mom’s) suffering lightly. And I rejoice with you that you can worship in pain, because the veil has been lifted. Thank you for your faithfulness in preparing these posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

