Glorious Unfolding

-Written by Anna-

Jesus is writing a story. It is not a story any of us could have imagined a month ago. Nor is it one that we would have chosen. But the reality this side of heaven is that redemption and salvation come through suffering. This is seen most clearly in the fact that Jesus was “born to suffer, born to save.” (Words from a Christmas song that Mom has repeated multiple times through this journey.) If the Son of God couldn’t avoid it why do we think we can?

Life (eternal or physical) comes through pain, someone ‘carrying’ and ‘bearing’ another.  I have heard this truth echoed by my grandfather and Mom and Dad numerous times. Mom has ‘labored’ in prayer for many of you reading this blog. But Jesus has asked her to walk a journey that she didn’t ask for but one that she is willing to enter into even if for the time being it means lying in a hospital bed and using all her energy and strength to sit up straight and hold her head up. And she is choosing to believe that Jesus is gloriously unfolding a story that will bring forth life! We are choosing to believe that even if we don’t see it this side of eternity.

As I drove into Lexington this morning, long before the sun came up, I felt the weariness and reality that there is no weekend off in care-giving. In that moment, a song came on the radio, Glorious Unfolding by Steven Curtis Chapman. It was a gift that helped prepare me as I walked through the doors of the rehab to be met by the night nurse who told me Mom had a rough night and was ready to see family.  I came in and read the song lyrics to Mom and we listened to it together. We got her settled back in and she slept all morning. It was a peaceful and restful sleep! Thank you Jesus!

I went home for a long break and got a phone call from Mom asking if I would stay the night with her. Dad had been here for hours and was rightfully tired! In four weeks she has not asked us once to stay the night, how could I say no?? So tonight we are having a slumber party in room 240! When I walked in tonight it was pure joy to see her as alert, awake and very much herself! The swelling in her head/brain is visibly decreasing and while it is increasing some of her discomfort, it means she is far more herself than we have seen in weeks. Praise the Lord!

I just tucked her in and she asked to pray together. I prayed mainly for her night and then she started praying. She prayed Scripture over her grand-kids and family. She then prayed for just a few of the many she carries on her heart. I have not heard her pray for things that we haven’t just talked about yet. She started praying for BFA (Black Forest Academy, the school where I teach). She prayed for the Olsons, Shannon, Barb, and all the staff and students. She prayed for Rachel, Midhuna and Meredith. It sounded just like her prayers before all of this! What a gift! She is now sleeping, hopefully for a longer stretch than last night. But Jesus isn’t sleeping and continues to unfold His glorious story even in the midst of this long hard road.

She asked me to share this song with you all (see link below). Our prayer is that we will all trust the Father heart of God with the story He is unfolding for each one of us!

Glorious Unfolding

 

25 thoughts on “Glorious Unfolding

  1. Anna, thank you for the report. It is encouraging, and so are the words to the song. Thank you for sharing that also. It spoke to me regarding my own life and family as well. I pray you all have a good night’s sleep.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing. This was a beautiful update, and I am praying now for Katy and for you. I pray she has a restful and peaceful night of sleep. I pray you and your dad are strengthened daily for all you are facing. Although there are no weekends off with caregiving, this is a precious time you have with your mom. I’m glad you are able to be there for her.
    I know you don’t know me, but I went to Asbury the same time as your parents, roomed with your Aunt Vangie, and served with your grandparents in OMS. I am inspired and encouraged by your words here and will continue to lift up all of you to our loving Savior.
    Thanks also for sharing the song. Beautiful!
    Praying now,
    Brenda Dixon

    Like

  3. Sweet Anna — I often think of the Scripture “Do not grow weary in well-doing, for in due season, you will reap if you do not faint.” Know that YOU are being upheld in prayer, along with your dad. Praying you will be able to rest (even if the sleep is interrupted) and that the Lord will restore your strength. Praying now. Cathy A

    Like

    1. Thank you! We are feeling the exhaustion but He gives strength to the weary and we are thankful for that! Thank you for your prayers! Anna

      Like

  4. With tears of the Joy of our Lord and thankfulness for Katy’s improvement, how she and your family minister to me in her journey of pain and struggle. Thank you for the faithful updates. We are with you in spirit and in prayer.

    Carole

    Like

  5. l love the song Glorious Unfolding and what a perfect song for you, Anna as it prepared you for your visit with your Mom. I am praying for continued peace and rest for Katy. I carry you all in my prayers today.

    Like

  6. Exactly! Not what we would choose as a way to glorify our loving, faithful, Father! But Katie through years if discipline surrendered her life for His. We see in her how that makes all the difference- when life really crashes! Praying daily!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  7. Dear Anna, May I share Katy’s, and your immediate family’s triumphs and prayer requests periodically with the WGM group, vía intranet? I am thankful the Lord has provided this form of communication so I can stay connected with Katy, He is so Faithful in every way!

    Like

  8. Habakkuk 3:19 The Lord God is my Strength, my personal bravery, and my invincible army; He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and will make me to walk- not to stand still in terror-, but to walk and make spiritual progress upon my high places of trouble, suffering, and responsibility. (Amplified version) This verse gets me out of bed in the morning and is fuel for my day!
    Words cannot express my gratitude for the many times Katy walked the Via de La Rosa with me. Her presence and His made all the difference!! Though I cannot be there physically I continue to carry all of you in my thoughts, my prayers and my heart!
    I think we all need a file for things we cannot understand-we see though a glass dimly-and then focus on the answers and realities and the truth we cannot escape revealed to us by God Himself, which is exactly what all of you are living out before us! Like Aaron and Hur we commit to continue to hold up your arms through prayer!

    Like

  9. God is so good. I am so happy that Katy is progressing. Please tell her that we continue to pray. Sending love and big hugs. Caretaking is tiring but for our loved ones we find the energy and a smile everyday. Praying for you and Stan for strength and your own good health.

    Like

  10. Anna, I think of you all often…caregiving isn’t for the fainthearted. The word itself…giving care…speaks of gentleness, kindness, mercy, patience, attentiveness, love, without boundaries. Glorious Unfolding is a favorite song. Have you watched the YouTube video? It is about a young woman and her dad.
    I can hear your mom’s prayers…been the recipient of that voice and the deep connection to Jesus so often over the years…a heart that comforted me and reassured me that God is present in the trials and gave me strength to keep on keeping on.
    Sweet Katy, I pray peace, strength, and the power of His blood and name over you this day. The sun is shining in Tacoma today…a blessing for me and a reminder of His constancy over you.

    Like

  11. Glorious, indeed! You’ve just got to believe; hold onto every promise; watch! Watching and praying with you all. Give Katy a hug for us, and hug each other, all you who are watching over her and watching the Lord work!

    Like

  12. What precious word and truths in this song! I know God meant it for you and for your dear mother yesterday. So thankful you could spend the night with her and be of comfort and help to her during the long night. We pray for blessings and strength for all of you.

    Like

  13. Oh Anna! This is such a wonderful song and so appropriate for this season of life your sweet mother is walking through! Thank you for blessing me with these lyrics. We love you all and pray for you.

    Like

  14. “Life (physical and eternal) comes through pain, someone bearing and carrying another.” What a message and what a rock solid heritage we have in Jesus and ALL those who have bore us up and carried us. Thankfully, we can do the same,”comforting with the same comfort, we have been comforted with. What a blessing to know Jesus and be of the household of faith!

    Like

Leave a Reply

