Day 1

-Written by Anna-

Day 1 is now in the history books. Mom did great. I have been doing the early morning to early afternoon shift and then Dad comes in and does the afternoon shift until she falls asleep at night. This morning I walked in at 7:15 and occupational therapy had already started. She did a great job!

Three weeks ago today we went in for lung surgery and she has not sat up on her own since. Today she sat in a wheelchair and was able to hold herself up for several minutes! She is a champ! Due to the craniotomy she has to wear a helmet and her head always hurts. She keeps telling us it feels like a bowling ball. So the process of sitting up and holding herself and her head up is a huge ordeal. But she did it. We then did physical therapy which was harder. The pain got intense enough that she became nauseous so we didn’t make it through the full hour but for the first day I thought she did well. The third hour was speech therapy where we connected with our fill-in therapist who has family serving in Kenya. It is always amazing to me how small the world is when you follow Jesus.

Mom fought hard today and did a great job. But she was in quite a bit of pain afterwards and unable to really rest, which is something she desperately needs. Can you pray for her body as it adjusts to being out of bed again and continues to heal from her surgeries? Can you pray for protection as she pushes herself in new ways? Continue to pray for restful sleep at night and emotional and physically energy for doing it all over again tomorrow.

We started an Ebenezer Wall in her room. Each day we are writing down a victory and raising our Ebenezer. Today it was sitting in a wheelchair for the first time. We look forward to seeing what the Lord has for tomorrow!

Thank you all so much for your prayer!

 

23 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Praise the LORD for the progress our dear Katy has made today. Oh how He loves to hear our praises. I remember the first time I was able to sit up in the wheelchair after my accident and all the many surgeries I had. Praying for His Sabbath rest tonight for all of you. Love the Ebenezer wall.

    Like

    1. I feel so humbled to be part of this journey. I am praying for continued progress. Thank you for allowing me to be a prayer partner. I look fondly to your posts; they are an example of how far-reaching is the body of Christ.
      Isaiah 41:10 Don’t panic. I’m with you. There’s no need to fear for I’m your God. I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you. I’ll hold you steady, keep a firm grip on you. from The Message

      Like

  2. I pray Katy makes positive progress each day and praying God takes away Katy’s headache. May God grant Katy sound, restful sleep each evening and ample strength and energy each morning. Lord we praise you and thank you. Please protect your daughter Katy, Father God.

    Like

  3. Hi Anna,
    Great ideas with the Ebenezer wall. What a way of encouraging. WIth some of my patients in the hospital, I will type up scripture using about 36 font or so and post them on the walls in their hospital room. Reading scripture is always difficult in this scripture, and what happens is that guests will read it to her, sometimes hospital staff. It becomes another way of encouragement and witness at the same time.
    love to you all and prayers,
    Pastor Randy & Bernadette Vinson

    Like

  4. Know what I think? I think Katy Key has an amazing daughter in you, Anna! Your ability to sense what your mom is feeling and put it into words is nothing short of fantastic! Thank you for being such a wonderful example of a daughter…..jean bisnett

    Like

  5. Your family definitely has been and will continue to be in my prayers. What a huge testimony your journey is becoming. Love reading about your celebrations of milestones. Praise God, He is keeping you all in His tender care.

    God Bless, Marge

    >

    Like

  6. Praise God for answered prayer!! We love the updates and the Ebenezer wall idea! May the Lord continue to be glorified through your precious family! We love you Katy💚 We will continue to pray without ceasing. Love & hugs! Ray & Michelle

    Like

  7. Anna, I don’t want to miss your updates, so I check my email every day just for this reason. I think of, and pray for, your mom and all of you often throughout the day. Thank you for letting us know how we can pray for her (and all of you) each day.

    Like

  8. Praying continually for all of you. Praying for rest tonight and relief from so much pain. Thank you all for your example of faith, hope and incredible love. God bless!

    Like

  9. I am so grateful for these updates. I will continue to pray that God strengthens Katy each day as she faces her challenges in PT. The Nieves are routing for you Katy. You mean the world to us!

    Like

  10. We continue to pray for Katy’s recover while we are here in the Czech Republic. We praise the Lord for her steps of victory!
    May the Lord fill the Ebenezer Wall with stories of His grace in Katy!
    We love you all!

    Like

  11. Good morning, Katy and family! I pray that today will bring more victory for each of you and that others will see God’s hand in your situation. Thanks so much, Anna, for continuing the blog that your sister started. I look forward to your updates..

    Like

  12. Amazing!! When you think of how you were doing only a few days ago. I applaud your efforts! Healing and pain, success and struggle….you’ll get there. Those Northeast farmers built those stone walls one heavy stone at a time…in their “free” time, and many are still there. Prayers and love,

    Like

  13. Continuing in prayer for you all. It’s so good to hear of your progress, Katy and I pray for strength and grace and encouragement and all that you need to continue to do well. In my reading this morning…”Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand”. Psalm 73:23

    With much love to you all.

    Like

  14. Dear Family: So thankful and feel so humbled to be a part of Katy’s journey, even in some small way. Praying every day for you all, especially Katy. Our Sunday School class is praying, and we report every week on Katy’s progress. Our close group of friends (8 of us) are also all praying for you Katy! Love the Ebenezer Wall, and we’re praying for many Ebenezer moments in the week ahead! Love you all from the South Carolina Harwoods

    Like

  15. Dear Anna, Your words are so precious and insightful. You and your sisters have a love for your mom that’s is such an example. Thank you for sharing your heart and allowing me to be part of this journey as the Lord is leading. God is using this to open my eyes and recognize He will never leave nor forsake us in our time of need. Praying for a new step today and for Katy to have rest and peace.
    Love to you all.

    Like

  16. Just to say we continue to follow your journey with love, prayer, interest and amazement. Thanks for sharing so honestly in all directions and again, tell your mom Dave and Ruth Van Reken pray regularly for her and look forward to seeing her day by day improvements, even if microscopic some days, to restore her to God’s “next stage” for her. And yet, as she lives out this stage with such courage and faith and you report, I want to affirm God is being glorified through her life and courage and faith at such a time…as he is through you and your entire family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

