“It could be worse”

As we have stabilized we are all starting to feel the exhaustion of the past two weeks and there is not quite as much to report each day (thank you Jesus!). She continues to be stable and to make small improvements each day.  Since stabilizing we are adjusting to a new normal and she is adjusting to her new realities. We rejoice over the baby steps forward that we make each day and we trust Jesus with the disappointments that are a part of the journey.

This morning they removed the 40+ staples in her head from the craniotomy which was a great blessing and step forward. Sadly, she did not pass the swallow test. This was disappointing to us and even more disappointing to her. But the therapists told us they see progress. They will start some daily swallow therapy tomorrow where she will get to enjoy a few bites of something other than ice chips each day! They also said she could have some sips of water. She was thrilled about that!

After the test results she said, “I failed. I feel discouraged. But it could be so much worse. I got to taste pudding and juice. So I’m grateful!” What a perspective. If only we all were so grateful for the small things.

To say that she is a sweet and easy patient is an understatement.  A nurse confessed to us last night that she is the most appreciative patient on the floor and one of the nurses’ favorites. We were not surprised! She talks about Jesus and others regularly and through her amazing spirit reminds us to be thankful for the little things each day!

This morning after her staples were removed and she was hurting and exhausted she said to me “I keep thinking about the verse that says He is the lifter of my head because I can’t even lift my head by myself.” So we read Psalm 3 together and then I played a song that she has loved for years from the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir. We listened to it together and Jesus strengthened both of our hearts. These are truly holy moments!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MybjSe_WWn4

Thank you for your continued prayers for swallowing, no infection, encouragement, peace, healing, courage and strength for each new day. Pray for us as we start making decisions about the next steps.

Today we went to pick her up some head scarfs that will hopefully make her feel a little prettier. The lady who helped us told us her Mom had brain surgery and she knew just the scarfs that work best! Jesus is in even that. Just like Mom says, “its the little things.”

Thank you to those who have sent precious gifts…they all bring encouragement and comfort (which is what she needs the most). From a little Christmas tree in her room, to beautiful flowers, to a soft blanket…she has been blessed by each little touch! We read her your notes and emails on her good days and she is so encouraged by each one.

13 thoughts on ““It could be worse”

  1. Thank you for your faithfulness in sharing your mom’s progress each day. She is so loved and it helps to know how to pray more specifically. May you all continue to sense His presence and encouragement day by day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Katy, Psalm 3:3 is the verse God gave me to bring me out of a difficult situation years ago. My testimony which I gave at LCC Moms two years ago was woven around Psalm 3:3. Thank you for sharing the link to Brooklyn Tab singing this. What a blessing to hear it! I had no idea it has been set to music.
    Marty

    Like

  3. Dear Katy and Stan,
    Kristine and I have been following your daily letters and those of your daughters and thank you for your regular updates and for your witness to us of your great faith in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ as you go through this difficult time of medical problems related to your stroke. Katy, we are encouraged by the progress that you have made but you probably would not see it that way; that is your want to be improving faster.
    I have asked the CMDA council members in Louisville to include you in their prayers for the Lords daily blessing, anointing and encouragement.
    We look forward to news from you again tomorrow and are reminded of Paul’s words in Eph 3 : 20–
    ——to him who is able to do immeasurably more that all we ask ——-

    Love in Christ,
    Gerry and Kristine Larson

    Like

  4. Dearest Key family, Thank you for sending this update and the link to the song, “Thou oh Lord art a shield about me, my Glory​ and the Lifter of my head.” I am in TX for the holidays with my daughter Katy and their growing family. Your Katy will remember my Katy, when my Katy was going through a rough time in 2001. Not just because of that connection, but also because my Kate is now a doctor, she has asked me to read the updates to her. Your Katie’s influence continues to bear fruit. Just wanted to say that Kate continues to add this note,” but mom, therapy does wonders these days–she may get back a great deal of movement”. That has encouraged me to pray for your Katie’s therapists. I love you all and I am praying with you in this very hard place! Libby

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is true, about new therapies. Has anyone mentioned hyperbaric oxygen therapy? I have read that it is very effective after strokes.

      Like

  5. Katy a night I pray to God as ask him to guide me and often He guides me as I read the bible. He guided me to this verse that is fitting to not only me but I thought of you a I read it and thought I would share it with you.

    “Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.”
    ‭‭Romans‬ ‭5:1-5‬ ‭

    I continue to pray for you Katy and your family. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Praise & Glory to God from whom this sweet story comes. To Katy I pray she knows the depth of love her followers here have for her (and many of us have not met her- but are tied through a spiritual bond – Praise Jesus) I am so blessed to be following this & the precious “comments” that come from the updates. I feel Gos’s presence as I follow this & know I want to be more like Katy. To her precious family- I pray God’s abundant blessings over you with comfort, strength, patience, and love as you take this journey. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  7. It’s no surprise that Katy is favored among patients. I thank God for the steps forward and continue to pray and put you all in God’s arms. “He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted”. Job 5:9

    Like

  8. Just as with the paralytic lowered through the roof by his friends, I have carried Katy the roof of the place where Jesus is teaching. I know Him as Healer. I have dug through the roof and lowered her down. She is lying right at His feet. She knows this. He has already forgiven her and she is His. She knows this. And He is saying, “Get up, pick up your mat and walk.” Nothing is impossible to him who believes, dear Katy!

    Like

  9. Thank you, dear Key family for your faithful updates. You know people worldwide are praying for her healing–so please, do rest! I cannot imagine the fatigue, emotional and physical, you must be feeling right now. Praying for your rest and health, as well. And for our Katy: she’s made progress–and for that we thank the Lord. Every day is a gift…what a reminder…that nothing is a given.
    Continuing to pray—and that the last day of the 2015 will be for all of you a day of rest and recovery. All our love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

