The Valley

– Written by Anna –

A week ago mom, dad and I drove into Saint Joseph’s hospital for what now seems like an easy thing, surgery to remove a nodule on my mom’s lung. One of the last things I remember of her before the surgery as I sat with her in pre-op was when she asked the nurse if she could pray before the nurse put in the epidural, iv, etc. Just like our mom.  She was quite anxious but as always she never let her fears or anxieties control her and ALWAYS turned them over to Jesus. This is a battle we are each facing every day.

This afternoon feels dark. Seven days ago we had NO idea what we would be facing. Seven days ago we were planning our family Christmas for today. Seven days ago our biggest fear was that she might have cancer and need a few treatments. We have since lost all track of time and pretty much everything outside of the hospital walls. This morning I went in hopeful to see some progress only to find her very agitated and in a lot of pain! Is there anything worse than seeing someone you love suffer like that? I’m pretty sure there isn’t. But even though my mom can’t really talk today she squeezed and squeezed my hand as I read to her from 2 Corinthians 1.  She squeezed real hard when I got to verse 5: “for just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ, so also our comfort abounds.”

Could you pray tonight for…

  • God’s deep deep comfort for us and especially for Mom? That we could all keep turning our fears and anxieties over to Jesus?
  • Encouragement in the midst of major battles of discouragement!
  • Mom to be able to cough. Today she choked all day on the fluid built up in her chest and throat. She was continually fighting between trying to cough and being suctioned out. It was quite awful.
  • NO pneumonia!

All I can seem to think of these days is the 23rd Psalm. We are truly walking through the valley of the shadow of death and though it is hard to see Him these days we know that He is with us!

Please keep holding us in prayer. Please keep praying for courage and strength for each one of us. Please keep praying for deep peace and comfort and healing for my mom. We need a miracle. Your love and prayers humble and bless us more than you will ever know.

37 thoughts on “The Valley

  1. May God embrace you all in His loving arms! May God continue to be in control….for His will to be done. Please know I am in tears knowing you are going through such tough times….I’ve been there and there is no release except to trust in the Lord! I am so glad you are all there to support and strengthen your Mom….she is surely a wonderful, God-fearing lady. I have learned more from her and her journey holding God’s hand. Love you all….!!!!!!

    Like

  2. Stan, Anna, Sarah, Liz…my heart aches for all the pain … Physical, emotional, spiritual. Ps 31:2 Turn your ear to me, come quickly to my rescue; be my rock of refuge, a strong fortress to save me.

    Like

  3. I cannot even express into words the emotion I feel. It’s so hard to see someone you love in pain. It brings back memories of my Grandfather and the pain he endured. I remember holding on to Jesus and His promises. I am holding you all up in prayer. I am asking Jesus to grant rest for Katy. Tell her I love her and Benjamin wants her to feel better.

    Like

  4. Jeff and I are crying out to God on Katy’s behalf and your behalf. Isaiah 40:31 Change your strength for His, dear ones. I had to, when Jeff had a “widow-maker” heart attack in 2011. I thank The Father, Son, and Holy Spirit for restoring him after 3 days. But that first terrible day, at 2am, coming home from the hospital and climbing into bed, I lifted my eyes to heaven and said, Lord, I gave him to you a long time ago. If you want him now, that’s alright. But it sure would be nice if I could have him with me awhile longer. I pray this speaks to you.

    Like

  5. Thank you for this word, Anna. We are praying for “no pneumonia,” and for God to continue to be your “eternal comfort.” Each day your family’s update gets read in our home. You are constantly in our hearts. Thank you for keeping us informed. Standing with you!

    Like

  6. Oh dear Key family,
    I wait for news, and stop everything to sit and read what is happening in your family through this ever increasing difficult time. And now hearing this, I am sad for each and all of you. Praying now that the choking and the unresolved pain would lessen through the long night. Keeping vigil with you as God wakes me and rinds me to stand and pray’

    Like

  7. Dear Stan and all the Family,
    My heart aches for all of you…my family and I Have been through much of what you are going through now, first with my husband, Ron, and 3 months ago with me….I feel your pain and your heartache. I know that you all know that through this valley, the Lord holds your hands, your hearts and basically carries you…although you don’t always feel it…so I pray you feel His supernatural strength
    And that He will reach down and touch your Mom and heal her, miraculously…we know that He can. I continue to pray for all of you and that all of your concerns for your Mom will be healed by our Savior.
    In Christ’s Love,
    Rena Doran

    Like

  8. We weep as we think of the pain you are going through, sweet Katy. We love you and Stan and your girls so much, but know our love is not as strong as the love you all have for one another. And so we know your pain is deeper than what we feel. Be assured of our prayers and love. Ruth and Harvey M.

    Like

  9. We read every single word from your posts. Our hearts race and our eyes close in an effort to keep your faces before us. We are concentrating on the smiling face of Katy with Stan in the picture that is on the home page. Tonight we prayed Anna’s words to our Lord, just as she wrote them. We will “lay our request before the Lord and wait expectantly.” Peace, assurance, and love to Katy and to you, the loves of her life.

    Like

  10. I cried so much it took me time to reply, your family means so much to me. I lean on God for your answers to prayers. So thankful for you all! God has a plan. I know I am nobody in all the people you know praying for Katie, but tell her I love her and I am praying for her.

    Like

  11. I will continue to pray for a Christmas miracle and strength and courage for all of you that only God through His Holy Spirit can give all of you. It’s hard to be so far away but I know it is even harder for you being right there experiencing her pain. My love and hugs to all of you.

    Like

  12. Our hearts hurt so much and its deeply painful to read today’s update. We are praying for an extra measure of comfort and courage for all of the Keys and a miracle for Katy’s healing.

    Like

  13. Continued prayers for your Mom and for strength and peace for all of you. In Joshua, there are several passages telling us not to be dismayed because the Lord our God is with us. One that stands out to me is Joshua 1:9 – “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” (NAS) One in Deuteronomy (1:8) says, “And the Lord is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” (NAS) Isaiah 41:10 – “”Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” (NAS). In my prayers for you over the past several days, I have quoted this last verse. I will continue to claim these verses for all of you, especially for your dear, sweet mother.

    Like

  14. We continue to pray and choose faith with all of you. The Comforter is with Katy and with all of you. He is carrying Katy – not just near but she is in His arms. We will not stop praying and trusting God with you.

    Like

  15. Dear Stan, Anna, Sarah and Liz,

    Tim and I wept as we prayed for Katy and all of you this evening. We felt the darkness and the sorrow that Anna expressed in her description of her visit with her Mom. Jesus sees you tonight. He knows your heart and He hears your cry for help and mercy. He sees you as you minister to your Mom and your beloved wife. He has promised never to leave you, nor forsake you. He is your Living Hope. How many times Katy reminded me of that. She would say, “Sharon…Jesus is your Living Hope. Hope is not dead. Hope is alive and His name is Jesus. He is active in your life and situation even when we don’t see Him working. Believe and tell Him you trust Him. He is the God of resurrection and He can resurrect the dark, dead parts of your life and your family and make them to live again” That’s my Katy talking; quoting His Word in her counsel and in her prayers. As I was reading my Bible tonight, those words of Katy’s came back to me as I read Ps. 33. I give you those words tonight.

    “Behold the eye of the Lord is on those who fear Him, on those who hope in His steadfast love, that He may deliver their soul from death and keep them alive in famine. Our soul waits for the LORD; He is our shield. For our heart is glad in him, because we trust in His holy Name. Let your steadfast love, O LORD, be upon us, even as we trust in You.” Ps. 33:18-22.

    Praying that Katy is able to cough so the suctioning can stop and she is able to be more comfortable and at peace. Praying for no pneumonia. Praying for joy in the morning and any small sign of encouragement and progress.

    Agreeing with you in prayer and sending love,
    Sharon

    Like

  16. Right now they are inducing my daughter whose baby, a son, has died in her womb. His due date was December 26th. Life and death so close all I can say is “fiat” as I live in this moment gracefully. I unite myself with you in prayer as we embrace each moment with those we love.

    Like

    1. So sorry to read of the loss of your grandson Rebecca. Words are not sufficient – Thank God prayer is!
      Praying for your family.

      Like

  17. On the morning of the 16th I sat down to read Psalm 16 for my devotional. The Lord put on my mind Psalm 23. I read both Psalms that morning and spent my quiet time for Katy. These are the main verses I prayed back to God for her. Psalm 16:8 I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With Him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure, Psalm 23:5b You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. I had a feeling that morning that I wasn’t alone in praying Psalm 23 (and 16) for Katy…with hope. Fervent prayer continues constantly for her and all of you. I am so sorry.

    Like

    1. So many united in love and praying for you all!. Romans 8:26b “but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with sighs too deep for words.” Holding on to those words for Katy and all your precious family.

      Like

  18. Stan…the Lord woke me several times in the night. My prayers were for you, for Katy, for our Allison and our new granddaughter who has not made her entrance into the world. I am with you!

    Like

  19. Anna, Stanley & Family-
    Please know that our prayers continue to be for Katy and her healing, as well as encouragement for each of you. Thank you for the updates as many in our Dublin community are praying too, and very concerned. May God’s love cover all of you, like a blanket, with comfort and warmth.
    In God’s Love,
    Jennifer & Jeff Davis

    Like

  20. Dear Stan and your beautiful family – I love you with the love of Jesus. He wants to heal Katy, He loves you so much. Please go to Stan’s email to read something I just learned of in fighting these spiritual battles… for we wrestle not against flesh and blood…
    IJN and love,
    Donna DiBello
    Psalm 118: 15-17 The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tents of the righteous; the right hand of the Lord does valiantly.
    The right hand of the Lord is exalted; The right hand of the Lord does valiantly. I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord.

    Like

  21. My breath has been taken away as I’ve read what Katy has faced as well as all of you. I find myself groaning. Thank you for keeping us informed with what faces Katy and you all; plus the specific ways to pray. Dick and I are continuing to pray and holding onto God’s promises on your mom’s behalf as well as all of you, her loved ones.
    Psalm 13
    O Lord, how long will you forget me? Forever?
    How long will you look the other way?
    How long must I struggle with anguish in my soul,
    With sorrow in my heart every day?
    How long will my enemy have the upper hand?
    Turn and answer me, O lord my God!
    Restore the sparkle to my eyes, or I will die.
    Don’t let my enemies gloat, saying, “We have defeated him!”
    Don’t let them rejoice at my downfall.
    But I trust in your unfailing love.
    I will rejoice because you have rescued me.
    I will sing to the LORD because he is good to me.

    Like

  22. “O Lord, my heart is not lifted up; my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me. But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me.” (Ps 131:1–2).

    Lord, we pray that you would still the hearts of the Key family and bring the comfort of the Holy Spirit, the divine comforter. Be their shield and protector. I pray for your mighty healing touch in Katy’s body, setting her free and making her whole, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

    We continue to pray for you daily and cry out to God that you would know his presence and his encouragement. All our love, Philip, Fiona, Jasmine and Bethany x x x

    Like

  23. Dear Stan ,Anna,Sarah &Liz….I hear your plea…… Am praying,trusting our Lord to meet your &Dear Katy’s needs. I Love you folks, many. Are praying for you all.

    Like

  24. Continuing to hold you close in our hearts and prayers! May you feel strength from the Father and know that he deeply loves each of you – especially your dear mama! Praying for a miracle!

    Like

  25. Dear Katy and Stan,

    I have sent this email multiple times as I don’t know whether you received the previous emails.

    While I was having my weekly phone call with Anne last Tues. she received the news of Katy’s stroke and shared it with me. Right away we were in prayer for you and God has kept you before me ever since. I ache for you Katy and long to get news that you are well on the way to being fully restored according to God’s will for your life. As you are hospitalized I pray that you are sensing God’s loving presence with you despite any limitations in speech.

    I remember when Peter was bedridden in his last months with us and you were on your way back home from visiting Stan’s folks and you kindly stopped by our home. I recall how Peter’s countenance changed to bright smile when he saw not just Stan but Katy standing beside him. It meant so much to both of us. I’m not sure I’ve seen Katy since that time. I only wish that I could stop by your hospital room and brighten your day in a similar way.

    Both of you have been such a blessing and encouragement to our children on the field as well as to us. I am so grateful to the Lord for the way He has used you to minister to them as well as to those with whom they work. I pray that The Lord will restore Katy to good health so that you can continue your joint ministry. May the Lord’s will be done is my prayer.

    I’m sending loving greetings from Sue and myself. We are also remembering your girls in prayer.

    Dorothy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

