Strength for today

– Written by Anna –

IMG_1269Today I finally had the courage to look through my Mom’s notebook.  For those of you who know her you know that it is never far from her. A few days ago when she was communicating better she told me she needed it with her in the hospital room because it was her ‘brain on paper’.  I cried as I saw so many of your names in it. She had several pages of names.  Those that she was carrying in prayer last week as she faced her own upcoming surgery. She also had names of missionaries to give to and some notes from sermons and others that Jesus used to give me strength to face the new day. While encouraged is a strong word for the week we have experienced, we are not in the pit that we have been in the last three days. She is stable, a little more alert and while she is still far more difficult to understand than a few days ago, she is trying to communicate again and asking for water repeatedly again. Hard, but good signs.

Keep praying…

  • Against pneumonia and infection of any kind. Pray for her to be able to successfully cough all that fluid up. This was better today, but still not out of the woods.
  • for the incision in her head and side to heal well. Her head is itching terribly today.
  • for the left side of her body and for restoration.
  • for deep abiding peace as these days are so hard and we can’t be with her all the time.
  • that she will be able to swallow at some point soon.
  • for deep breaths as one of her lungs has collapsed due to surgery and stroke.

IMG_1265At one of the worst moments yesterday she motioned for me to get her the cross that a sweet friend gave her. She held it up trying to see it and then proceeded to feel every little part of it and her lips started moving. The doctors and nurses may disagree but knowing my mom she was praying and nestling into the sufferings and comfort of Jesus in a way she never has before at truly her lowest moment.

Thank you for praying for her (and us) through the night. None of these days are good days but yesterday was a real low for all of us. And yet once again He is with us! He gave us strength to get up and face a new day. And today we say thank you Jesus for no steps backwards. Keep asking Him with us for some baby steps forward.

We love you all and are so thankful that just as she has carried so many of you in prayer, you are now carrying her and us! What a gift!

26 thoughts on “Strength for today

  1. Keeping you in my prayers continually. Zephaniah 3:17 “The Lord your God in your midst, the Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

    Like

  2. Great to hear that katy held her ground today!!! Now to get moving in the right direction! Looking forward to even better news tomorrow.

    Like

  3. On that precious list…Heidi! One of the verses I have prayed over Justin and Heidi is Jeremiah 31:17… “They will return from the land of the enemy. So there is hope for your future.” To see Heidi’s name and know your mom was praying for these sweet new baby boys gives my heart hope…for them, and for her. God isn’t finished…His plans from eternity passed are in place. We don’t understand his ways, but he and your mom are one in spirit, even in this. So thankful for a day with no backward steps. Fervent in prayer.

    Like

  4. This blog has united us to pray for Katy’s healing and your family. We wait for word, we pray, we hope. We are of one mind.

    Psalm 133
    “Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brothers to dwell together in unity!
    It is like the precious oil upon the head, coming down upon the beard, even Aaron’s beard, coming down upon the edge of his robes.
    It is like the dew of Hermon coming down upon the mountains of Zion;
    For there the Lord commanded the blessing—life forever.”

    I pray our unity is pleasing to the Lord. May it be like precious oil poured out upon Katy, to bring healing from her head to throughout her body.

    Like

  5. My thoughts and prayers have been with Katy and all of you each day. Katy is a strong remarkable woman. I pray for good news tomorrow.

    Like

  6. Aba Father,
    Keep Katy the Great gently in your arms. Heal her broken body Father. You are the great physician and absolutely in charge of us all. Yesterday seemed SO dark and heavy Yet we know you were there guiding Katy through the dark and today, Baby Steps. Thank you father for your loving right hand.
    Anna, Sarah, Liz and Stan we pray for strength for each day and night for you. We love you and continue to hold you ALL up to the Savior.

    Like

  7. Our Monday night bible study group prayed for Katy last night and all of you too!
    Praising God for no setbacks today! Praying for a Miracle!!!
    May you be aware of Christ’s presence and His love for you daily.

    Like

    1. There are no words to express the sorrow I have for your family. None.
      Please whisper in your Mom’s ear that I will be forever thankful to her for allowing me to be with my Mom when she had her stroke. She immediately took over my responsibilities to make that possible. Her 100% involvement in my family’s life changed us forever. She is Jesus in skin; loving, accepting, giving and leading by example. I have learned from you Katy…especially about prayer! Now your student is praying for you, carrying you continually before His thrown. Thank you that even now you continue to teach us how to face our darkest moments. I love you my sweet Katy. Continue to fight & teach us by your example and I will continue to battle in prayer!

      Like

  8. I did not want to turn in for the day until I had read an update on Katy. Anna, I know how it feels to have so much in your life change in just one week, in just a couple days. Over ten years ago when we were in a car accident, our lives changed dramatically in just a few hours, and life has never been the same. Yet I praise God for His great mercy and faithfulness, It took Duane over a year to initially recover and though he still bears some of the long term effects of that event, God has been with us and blessed our family. I know He has a plan and purpose in allowing this to happen to Katy and your family, but I trust and believe that Romans 8:28 is still God’s promise to you and I walk by faith with you all. With love and prayers,

    Like

  9. Dear Key family,
    Since the day we heard of Katy’s situation, we have been praying, at times in tears. This must be so incredibly hard for all of you.
    I have been reading through Exodus and this morning, as I read the passages on the “breastplate of decision” in Ex. 28:15-30, I read Matthew Henry’s commentary on the subject. I wanted to share this with you, as I thought of Katy when I read it:
    “How near should Christ’s name be to our hearts, since He is pleased to lay our names so near His! and what comfort it is to us, in all our addresses to God, that the great high priest of our profession has the names of all His Israel upon His breast before the Lord for a memorial, presenting them to God as the people of HIS CHOICE, who were to be made accepted in the beloved! Let not any good Christians fear that God has forgotten them, nor question His being mindful of them upon all occasions, when they are not only engraven upon the palms of His hands (Isa. 49:16), but engraven upon the heart of the Great Intercessor (see Cant. 8:6).”
    Jesus bears Katy upon His heart before the Father’s Throne of Grace. How well He knows what to pray!
    With love and prayers,
    Joe and Lois Pasinella

    Like

  10. Just before going to prayer today, a flood of thoughts of Katy (and Stan) came to my heart.
    Remembering my own “Valley of the Shadow” when we lost our precious son Jason in 2003.
    Katy was one of the first ones I prayed with after coming home from his funeral. Then again in 2012 when Jim faced cancer and was in and out of the ICU after his surgery, Katy (and Stan) were with us.
    Jim remembers waking in the hospital and seeing what he was certain was an angel next to his bed.
    He said she had a “glow” all around her. Of course, it was Katy (and she is an angel to us).
    We have been blessed to have both of you in our lives.
    Please know that Jim and I are in constant prayer for all of you. We ask for healing, strength, wisdom
    for the physicians, and peace for all of you.
    You are very loved and cherished by us, and we know that Jesus is with you every step of the way.
    We are trusting for healing and restoration for Katy’s physical needs, and for rest and comfort for the whole family.
    May His peace and love be with you at this Christmas time. God Bless you.
    Much love, Jim and Pam Allbright (Loudonville Church family)

    Like

  11. Praying for each member of the family. GOD knows each one and just how to give you the encouragement and HIS SUSTAINING GRACE that each one needs every day. GOD IS FAITHFUL TO HIS WORD & PROMISES. HE WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU, NEVER FORSAKE YOU! Hebrews 13:5-6. Carrying you in my heart & prayers, Mary

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

  12. I am so thankful today for this improvement, though small. My heart has been broken for Katy’s suffering…and as a result, and your whole family as well! I’m so thankful for Katy’s long history with God that allows her soul to “Be still, and know that I am God!” even in painful frightening moments.

    There have been times in the middle of the night when I’ve been awakened…and I tend to sleep like a rock. I knew that I needed to pray for Katy and for you, her family. I will continue praying for her complete recovery and NO setbacks…and another magnificent story to tell of God’s redemption. He is SO faithful!

    Like

  13. Chere chere Anna, ici en France nous vous portons. Vous ne pouvez pas etre a tout moment avec ta maman mais Dieu est la. He neither sleeps nor slumbers and loves her even more than you do. we are sending e hugs which are not the most satisfying but will have to do pour le moment. Grosses bises, Ilka

    Like

  14. In the midst of your struggle, I am being blessed by Stan’s book The Last Word. I am studying Revelation in BSF and in reading through the Bible journal I am going through. The book has been powerful and I find I am underlining and understanding as I have never before. I pray for Katy and Stan everyday as I have for some time but to see your families faith in action is a sight to behold. Anna, thank for this vital role you are playing as your mom’s pray partners. Devon

    Like

  15. Katy, praying for your healing, your comfort, your peace. You have been there for all of us with your prayers, advise, discipleship, and your deep love has lifted each of us up so many times. It pains us all to hear of your suffering, it hurts at our core and we humbly beg God for mercy and your full recovery. I love you Katy. We cry out to God on your behalf continually and wait with hopeful hearts .

    Like

Leave a Reply

