Clinging to the cross

IMG_2362Today was a bad day. Mom had a seizure, an allergic reaction to the antibiotics, and some fluid buildup that made us unable to give her as much ice (because of fears of pneumonia). It was an all around miserable day for her. But, after benadryl, morphine, and seizure medication she slept hard for a lot of the day. We are grateful for that! All of these issues set her back in speech and other areas of progress. This is just hard.

But tonight she is literally clinging to the cross…a small wooden cross that her friend Susie Lyons gave her! Nothing to do but cling on days like this.

We thank God for:

  • precious visitors to pray over Mom
  • provision of healthy meals for us in the hospital by precious friends who provided hotel rooms for us early on…and again tonight as we hit another setback. With the hospital being 40 minutes away from my parents home its hard for the night shift and morning shift!
  • We have all begun to take turns…and take rests (which is good).
FullSizeRender
Sweet friends praying over Mom today!

Please pray for a NEW and brighter day tomorrow! And sweet rest for my Mom tonight with NO setbacks.

“When I feel like I can’t touch the bottom is when I touch the depths of God.”

20 thoughts on “Clinging to the cross

  1. I am so sorry to hear about the day’s setbacks. You are all in my thoughts and prayers many times each day as you are brought to my mind often.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad for family and friends that can help you stay close and support you in this way. Many prayers are going up throughout the day and we know God has his hand on Katy. Praying for good rest tonight.

    Like

  3. My heart is sad. I pray for His clear intervention tonight; for peaceful rest, thankful with you for the body of Christ present with you, ministering as His hands and feet.

    Like

  4. I know that you don’t know me but my name is Michael I am friends with Jocelyn and Debbie who told me what Katy is going through and forward me this link. I am a stroke survivor. I thought I was in great shape but on Nov 19 2014 at the age of 46 I had a severe stroke which effected the right side of my body and the inability to speak. Prayers are what saved me and continue to help we through my recovery. I have been praying for you Katy and your family. When I had my stroke I was so scared while laying in the hospital I remember what my father told my when I was little and used to wake up in the middle of the night, he told me to say the Our Father when I was scared. Due to the way the stroke affected my brain I couldn’t remember the words to the Our Father so I just laid there and in my mind I talked to the Lord. I now remember the words to the Our Father and and speak that and many more prayers. I am saying the Rosary you you Katy that the Holy Mother console you and ask Jesus our savior to heal you.

    Like

  5. Blessed rest for you all. A better day for tomorrow-The Lord’s Day! In my thoughts and prayers throughout the day.πŸ™πŸ»β€οΈ

    Like

  6. We continue to pray for Katy and the entire family. Each of you is in our hearts and prayers throughout each day. We trust God to meet your every need and bring healing to Katy. We love you! Mike and Sherry Powers

    Like

  7. Thank you for your every post. I will pray for her and all of you always. I was there in your place when my husband David Do, Sung Do’s father was in ICU in St Peter’s in Albany with severe Pneumonia two year ago. God sent him back to home 7 weeks later by His power and grace. I will pray for Her and pastor Stan and all of you. God will be gracious and merciful for all of you. He will wipe all your tears and answer to all your prayers and all prayers of the people who have loved Katy and pastor Stan dearly. May love, grace, peace and comfort of our Lord Jesus Christ will be with you all. The Power of the Holy Spirit will be with Katy and you all. Shalom.
    Insook Do

    Like

  8. Although I have not seen you for more than 10 years, I never forget your love, counsel and kindness to me in a difficult time. I pray you can rest on our Shepherd’s shoulders until safe to set you down very soon. Much Love.

    Like

  9. Thanks so much for the daily updates on your mom’s condition. I continue to pray daily for all of you. Grateful knowing our Father is with all of you providing just what each one needs.

    Like

  10. I heard this today: Little faith will bring the soul to heaven, but great faith will bring heaven to the soul.

    I know you are people of great faith…..I pray you feel, minute by minute, the heaven in your souls.

    Like

Leave a Reply

